Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Graduate Education / Career Switch?

Registered
    Sep 2006

Graduate Education / Career Switch?

As a long-time "guest member", this is my first post as a cybubrian. I am looking for all opinions, comments, perspectives, ideas, suggestions, etc. Ok, this may get a little long, but here is the deal...

I am a police officer for a medium-sized city. To say that I enjoy my job would probably be a stretch. I have been an officer for about 4.5 years and the entire time I have felt that my undergraduate degree (in Sociology) and overall education is under-utilized in terms of patrolling in a squad car. Not to undermine the profession, or to say that my job is not important to society, because it sure is. Someone has to do it, right? To me, the job is just not intellectually challenging. The excitement and luster of the job is defientely over-dramatized by the media and culture.

Obtaining my masters has always been a goal for me since graduating from college. I have been given the fortunate opportunity to start graduate school at a Big 10 public affairs school. I just started my program and I am currently a Master of Public Policy candidate with a concentration in public and nonprofit management and leadership. My thought process at the time of applying was that this would be a great degree to give me an understanding into how a police department could be effectively and effeciently run someday. Kind of counter-intuitive as I am currently not very satisfied with my job, but more of a futuristic type look of where I want my professional career to lead to.