Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: GIS newbie - transportation planning

Registered
    Oct 2006

GIS newbie - transportation planning

I am a computer programmer looking to get into the GIS field, with an
    emphasis on planning, particularly transportation planning. Which .NET course I should pursue, ASP.NET or VB.NET?

I wouldn't recommend either of those (at least to start with). I am in the middle of getting my GISP certification and they recommend having a good knowledge of Python programming language (as that is what ESRI's ArcGIS software uses). Additionally, SQL database knowledge and skills is a must if you really want to have a leg up on GIS people entering the job market. ASP.NET is something I would personally like to learn, but VB.NET may be better for GIS applications. It all depends on what you are working on.

Registered
    Feb 2005
    The ArcObjects tool set(what ARCGIS is built out of) is built on VB, not python, python is just a scripting language for ARCGIS. ASP.NET or VB.NET would be a great start, but the best bet would be to read the ARCGIS user guide on the help in the software, this is pretty vague and its kind of late so if you want I can give you some more specific answers to any questions you have. I can post some good online books from ESRI tomorrow if I remember. SQL, ARCSDE and ARCIMS would be good software to familiarize yourself with also.

Suspended Bad Email Address teshadoh's avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    But .NET is the language of choice for server-side applications, which the ArcGIS Server application will be the 'future' for GIS applications.

But to be honest, I would concentrate on just GIS for now & not venture into transportation planning. If you are a high end GIS developer, you won't likely be planning but developing applications for planners & the public.

Registered
    Nov 2004
    Quote Originally posted by altoss View post