Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 34 of 34

Thread: ArcView? Is it really this bad?

  1. #26
    Cyburbian Michele Zone's avatar
    Registered
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    7,061
    Quote Originally posted by Plannerbabs
    ArcView is up to version 8?? We're still using Version 3!!
    I think they jumped from 3 to 8 because of the big change to a windows environment. I don't think there was a 4, 5 , 6, 7. But I am not absolutely sure of that.

  2. #27
    Cyburbian Doitnow!!'s avatar
    Registered
    Dec 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    499
    ArcView is up to version 8?? We're still using Version 3!!
    I think they jumped from 3 to 8 because of the big change to a windows environment. I don't think there was a 4, 5 , 6, 7. But I am not absolutely sure of that
    The last Arc View I used two days back was 3.2a. and the last Arc Info i saw was 8.1.

    Looks like something huge has happened since then. Time to check out more or find out what the confusions about?? :-}
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them".
    -Isaac Asimov

  3. #28
    Cyburbian GISgal's avatar
    Registered
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    277

    Versions 4, 5, 6, 7

    Were beta (testing) versions that ESRI used in house.
    I am not discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward. - Thomas Edison

  4. #29
    Cyburbian plankton's avatar
    Registered
    Feb 2003
    Location
    coastal rainforest
    Posts
    749
    ArcView 8.2 user here (8.3 has been in a box under my desk for several months).

    I have built several layers of information for my city and am currently working on mapping the city's water & sewer lines (including hydrants, valves, meters, etc.).

    I love this GIS stuff and can't seem to get enough of it.

    IMHO Arc View kicks some serious a$$.

    Now about my damn HP plotter and it's damn "out of memory" errors.....

  5. #30
    Cyburbian
    Registered
    Feb 2004
    Location
    ????
    Posts
    1,184
    ArcView 9 should be out later this spring.

  6. #31
    Cyburbian Dragon's avatar
    Registered
    Nov 2003
    Location
    MS, Not Margaritaville, though we are building one
    Posts
    750
    Quote Originally posted by plankton

    Now about my damn HP plotter and it's damn "out of memory" errors.....

    I know what you mean about that problem. We were suffering through that for a while with our older HP plotter. I believe to correct our problem, we went into the printer options and did a "In computer" option print, which is slower, but it allows the computer to process the print, instead of all the info being dumped into the printer memory.

    I learned AcrView 3.3 in school, and as an intern. Then one day, I came into work and my boss/department head had a copy of ArcView 8.3 and he showed it to me. He was having difficulty learning to use it, and he had some pressing projects, so it was easier for him to stick to 3.3. I took on 8.3 as a challege to learn, and I did. My boss quickly followed in learning the program, and now we both use it exclusively. IMHO 8.3 is far more powerful, and user friendly.

  7. #32
    Suspended Bad Email Address teshadoh's avatar
    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    427
    I love ArcView/ArcMap 8.3 ! I learned Arc-Info 7x a decade ago, picked up ArcView 3x later & have been using ArcView 8x for the past 3 years. The key to having full functionality I've learned is understanding the options for the ArcEditor license. ArcToolbox can be a very powerful thing using the more advanced geoprocessing tools rather than the weak ArcView tools.

    But otherwise I pity the person trying to pick up using GIS software without learning it in school- & I'm probably a little territorial about it since I majored in Geography.

    Quote Originally posted by Michele Zone
    I think they jumped from 3 to 8 because of the big change to a windows environment. I don't think there was a 4, 5 , 6, 7. But I am not absolutely sure of that.
    Michele, they jumped to 8x because ArcInfo was at 7x. ArcView 8x is truly a marriage of ArcView & ArcInfo.
    Last edited by Gedunker; 08 Nov 2006 at 8:33 AM. Reason: merged posts

  8. #33

    Registered
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Concord, New Hampshire
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally posted by plankton

    Now about my damn HP plotter and it's damn "out of memory" errors.....
    Sounds like you need ArcPress....it will make your life so much easier!

  9. #34
    Cyburbian ABS's avatar
    Registered
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    104
    I hate ArcView, it has no brains what so ever!!!! It is also bloody incapable of handling imported data without seriously reduced accuracy rates.

+ Reply to thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

More at Cyburbia

  1. GIS ArcView GIS 10?
    Information Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last post: 10 Apr 2012, 5:17 PM
  2. Importing UK map into Arcview
    Information Technology
    Replies: 1
    Last post: 13 Jul 2009, 1:42 PM
  3. ArcView 9.3 safe?
    Information Technology
    Replies: 7
    Last post: 25 Jul 2008, 11:00 AM
  4. Mapguide or Arcview?
    Information Technology
    Replies: 4
    Last post: 21 Feb 2006, 3:21 PM
  5. ArcView? Is it really this bad?
    Information Technology
    Replies: 34
    Last post: 03 Apr 2004, 1:07 AM