Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Cards in the Fish Bowl

Registered
    Nov 2005

Cards in the Fish Bowl

Whenever I go out to dinner at a restaurant and I see the offer next to the exit (as I am leaving fully satisfied) which states "put your business card in here for a chance to win a free lunch", of course I am always going to put my business card in. Now I should make it known that I work as a Planner for the public sector. One of the reasons that I do it is because I am of the belief that I will not win (so optimistic!).
    Well I received a call the other day which stated "congratulations you have won a free lunch at X!" At first I was so excited about the situation (and the fact I could take out my co-workers); however, after I thought about it a second, I thought, am I allowed to do this ethically, personally, and most important what would the municipality think?

My question is: Can I take it?

Thanks so much. I am getting hungy just thinking about it!

Registered
    Feb 2004
    Seeing as how you won the free lunch in a raffle format that any schmuck could have potentially won and not as some reward for being a planner, I don't see why not. Bon appetit!
    People will miss that it once meant something to be Southern or Midwestern. It doesn't mean much now, except for the climate. The question, “Where are you from?” doesn't lead to anything odd or interesting. They live somewhere near a Gap store, and what else do you need to know? - Garrison Keillor

Yes, you are not accepting the meal in order that they may gain business from your place of work or otherwise obligate your employer. It is a personal gift from them to you - has nothing to do with work, other than their business card. It's like how Doctor's offices give out pens, restaurants give out meals - It is their way of advertising.
    Who's gonna re-invent the wheel today?

Registered
    Aug 2001