Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Qualifications for planning/urban design career (was "career path")

Qualifications for planning/urban design career (was "career path")

hey, all you city planners. can you tell me what a city planner does in his job? i am a high school student and i want to be an architect first and then a city planner. is this a good plan? how should i structure my schooling to put me in the best position to be a good city/regional planner? also, do you need a PhD to be a city planner? that's supposed to be recommended by the APA. i visited their website and they had a page of schools offering PhD programs for urban/regional planning. one last question: how much on average do you guys make annually? collegeboard told me $57K, but im not sure if that's true.

Moderator note:

moved from Make No Small Plans to Career Advice. Hopefully you'll catch some good traffic here.

(Suburb Repairman)
    descriptive title added
    (Gedunker)

Last edited by Gedunker; 26 Nov 2006 at 8:47 PM.

Registered
    Jan 2005
    You, like I, wanted to be an architect first. I job shadowed an architect in high school and found that sitting at a desk all day, drawing pretty pictures that would never become reality just wasn't for me. It is for some, but not for me.

I think that most people will tell you to get the widest variety of classes in college that you can. Planners seem to find a way to get into every crease of the government and daily structure. The more you know, the better planner you will be.

A PhD is in no way required. Honestly, most practicing planners don't have a PhD, and some (maybe lots?) don't have a Master's. Experience is also important in the world of planning, as you will find out, school cannot teach you everything.

And planners make a range of salaries. I don't think that we live like kings, but well enough. Marry rich. That makes money not an issue