Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Grad paper - sports franchise moves

Registered
    Nov 2006

Grad paper - sports franchise moves

Hello everyone,

I am a grad student working on a paper related to the importance of professional sports franchises to a city's image (and its development). It seems that some cities (Nashville) have deemed a professional football franchise to be of great importance, while others (Los Angeles) don't seem to care that their city has a team.

Why is this? I am wondering if anyone can point me to any particular resource materials other than local newspapers or if you have any other research ideas?

Thanks,
    Allen Bargfrede
    Last edited by allenbarg; 16 Nov 2006 at 12:16 PM. Reason: changing title

Registered
    May 2005
    Try these articles (they are critical of the economic impact of the industry):
    http://www.cato.org/pubs/regulation/regv23n2/coates.pdf
    http://www.umbc.edu/economics/wpapers/wp_03_103.pdf

This site has a list of articles both in support of and critical of sports franchises as an economic development tool: http://www.planning.unc.edu/courses/261/narcowich/

I have not seen such a thing, but I would imagine someone has also written on the social/cultural impact of sports. In my recent visit to Pittsburgh, sports were a huge part of the local culture. People were proud of them (and by extension the city) and their impressive new stadiums were a a significant part of the three rivers landscape.

Good luck.
    Last edited by wahday; 16 Nov 2006 at 2:47 PM.
    The purpose of life is a life of purpose

Registered
    Jan 2005
    I actually did an entire studio on the effects of stadiums/arena/etc. on a city and how their financing structure works in undergrad... but I can't tell you where I found the material.