Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Planning or Policy graduate degree?

Registered
    Jul 2006

Planning or Policy graduate degree?

Hi everyone,

I'm applying to four New York City planning/policy programs and having a major moment of confusion. I'm not sure which type of degree would be more strategic for me to get -- an MUP or a policy degree?

I want to focus on redevelopment and housing issues, specifically working to involve low-income communities in the redevelopment of their neighborhoods. I am also interested in developing low-income housing and improving current public housing. I have several years of nonprofit experience working with low income communities to develop programs and I am interested in focusing on the community development concentration in grad school.

I am applying to Pratt, NYU, Columbia and the New School. I visited New York last month and these programs all stood out as places I could see myself thriving in. However, I'm not really sure which skill set will do the most for me -- the policy, management and finance angle of the policy programs or the more traditional and design-oriented planning degree.

Anyone in this boat? Thoughts?

Thanks.

Registered
    Jul 2006

About Pratt...

Quote Originally posted by Rachel View post
    Hi everyone,

I'm applying to four New York City planning/policy programs and having a major moment of confusion. I'm not sure which type of degree would be more strategic for me to get -- an MUP or a policy degree?

I want to focus on redevelopment and housing issues, specifically working to involve low-income communities in the redevelopment of their neighborhoods. I am also interested in developing low-income housing and improving current public housing. I have several years of nonprofit experience working with low income communities to develop programs and I am interested in focusing on the community development concentration in grad school.