Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Confused/Advice? Considering switch to private sector

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jan 2005

Confused/Advice? Considering switch to private sector

Okay, here is my situation. I graduated with an undergrad in planning about a year and a half ago and currently work in the public sector in an entry-level position. While in school, I worked as an intern in planning departments for two different cities also. But I am beginning to wonder if planning in the public sector is what I really want to do. I mean sometimes it's okay and rewarding and all of those things, but I'm just not sure if I'm governement worker material. I'm more interested in the private side of development while still providing good projects for communities. Or maybe even another industry that is realted to planning that I can use my skills that I learned in the public sector. Problem is it seems like my degree is so focused it's hard to switch over into anything else besides public sector planning. Any advice?

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    go back to school and get an MBA if you want to go into development - you'll have a good leg up professionally in a development corporation

or give private sector planning a whirl and look for work there

what is it about government work that you don't like - is it the particular job you are in or is it what you are doing? it's hard sometimes to discern the difference

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    When you say the private side of development what do you exactly mean? Real estate? Design? You have also mentioned that your degree is to specialized. Did you specialize in a certain area of planning in college? Keep in mind that each community is different. Some planners in both the public and private sector work in a particular area of planning, whereas some planners work in many different areas.