Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Where Do I Start????

Registered
    Jan 2007

Where Do I Start????

I graduated from Cal State Los Angeles in 2006 with a BA in Liberal Studies. My GPA was not spectacular actually it was pretty dismal 2.98. I am now working as a compliance inspector for CSA, a top certification body in the United States and Canada. Of the most interesting and important topics touched during my Bachelors was architecture and its influences on the social and economic portions of the city. Now, while working as an inspector I have been able to travel and really identify the defining lines of cities and regions through higways, urbanizations, business parks and other aspects. I have come to the crude reality that I just may end up going to school to become a planner. Why crude? Well because my sister is in the process of completing her masters in Urban Planning. In end, I guess it might be in the genes. Anyway I am starting to look into many schools that offer Urban Planning programs. I will be taking the GRE in the next couple of months and hope to begin applying towards the end of the year. Now seems like a good time to get feedback from you all on what process I should follow to better my chances at getting into a good Urban Planning school seeing as how my GPA is not very high and I am not specifically involved in a planning profession at the moment. Your feedback and advise will be read thoroughly and put into use...thank you all!!!!!!If anyone would liek to add me to their messenger feel free it is bpsp12@hotmail.com.

Don't let your GPA limit you

You needn't get into a prestigious Urban planning school to become an urban planner. Your degree will be urban planning, the same as someone who went to Harvard or MIT or whatever. If a company or jurisdiction will be shallow enough to choose you based on the school you received your degree at, you don't want to work for them anyway. Good luck on whatever you decide.