Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Remotely figuring square footage..

Registered
    Jan 2007

Remotely figuring square footage..

I am currently a student at Wentworth Institute of Technology in Boston MA updating a Market Research Analysis for a Roxburry MA community.

I was wondering if anyone knew of any sound methodologies for calculating square footage without actually taking the measurements by hand.

Perhaps there is a software program that allows the user to measure a building's exterior to approximate the interior square footage. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

bozekj

Unfrozen Caveman Planner mendelman's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003
    I don't know of any software or such, but you could probably just measure the footprint and make a guess at the square footage by using the number of floors and taking into account and upper floor setbacks or occupied pitched roofs.

or you could go to the municipality and they may have a set of building permit plans that you could review and take measurements from the plans.
    I'm sorry. Is my bias showing?

Let's not be didactic in this profession, because that is a path to disillusion and irrelevancy.

Six seasons and a movie!

Registered
    Jan 2007

Thanks..

Thanks for the help.

There is an abundance of assessor's data available that could help. I am however, looking to come up with some sort of method that could incorporate a Geographic Infromation System to reduce the reliance on having to acquire blue prints.

Thanks

Unfrozen Caveman Planner mendelman's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003
    Quote Originally posted by bozekj View post
    ...incorporate a Geographic Infromation System to reduce the reliance on having to acquire blue prints.