Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Job tasks/responsibilities in private sector (twenty to thirty-somethings)

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006

Job tasks/responsibilities in private sector (twenty to thirty-somethings)

I have been pondering for a new planner position in the private sector, working for a different firm. Being the only planner in my firm besides my boss (who runs the firm and is a landscape architect by profession), I often wonder if I am getting a quality level of planning experience, or if I need to develop stronger planning skills working in a different firm.

Before I look for a job, get an offer, and jump ship from my current job, I would like to hear what are typical tasks/responsibilities by planers who are both (1) entry-level and (2) in the private sector so I can compare. People in their twenties or early thirties move to the front of the line

Registered
    Feb 2007
    As a former entry level planner (now mid-level/project manager) on a day to day basis at our design firm i was asked to do these things and i expect our entry level planners to have the ability to perform these tasks as well:

*Project Due Diligence with minimal supervision
    *Write sections of Specific Plans, Master Plans, etc, under supervision
    *Be able to use various software apps to create opportunities and constraints mapping, base mapping, etc.
    *Contact various agencies/firms for base maps, files, etc. needed to work on a project or for project information
    *Create Land Use Alternative design concepts with supervision
    *Research zoning regulations, general plan, land use law that affects a project's outcome
    *Provide graphic support to a project through hand drawn or computer produced graphics
    *help assemble our planning documents through software apps (i.e. specific plans, master plans, etc)