Urban planning community

Closed thread

Thread: Australian Suburbs

Registered
    Mar 2007

Australian Suburbs

Greetings Cyburbia. I'm an Australian almost-graduate architect, and have worked in the build environment professions for 5 years. I'm very intersted in Planning and urban design and these disciplines describe the macro forces that effect architecture.

I'm currently completing my Masters at Melbourne University and have started my final project: Densifying the Suburbs.

I propose to introduce office/professional and service businesses into existing suburban typologies; or, to create new micro-commercial buildings that read in the contect of the middle suburban ring.

I look forward to tapping into and contributing to suburban forums.
    Thanks Cyburbia

Registered
    Aug 2005
    welcome from massachusetts!
    In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends. -Martin Luther King Jr.

Cyburbian Emeritus Bear Up North's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003
    Welcome from NW Ohio, USA, on a continent bigger than your's.

Glad you have jumped in the Cyburbian Pool. We look forward to your posts, especially pros/cons regarding suburban development.

Bear
    Occupy Cyburbia!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Oct 2004
    Hi there. Also at Uni Melbourne here.
    Trying to work toward an Ebenezer Howard type model of self-containment in smaller areas there? I know the main issue with those that we trip over is the experience with Canberra where job mobility and the fact that we are no longer single-earner households work together to make travel destinations a bit erratic. Getting a greater mix of uses into inner and middle ring areas seems pretty useful though.

Registered
    Jul 2006
    Welcome to Cyburbia. Just keep on posting.

Registered
    Apr 2006
    Greetings from Washington, DC!
    "You merely adopted the dark. I was born in it,..." -Bane

Registered
    Aug 2004
    Hello, from Irving, TX!