Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Masters dissertation (thesis)

Registered
    Feb 2007

Masters dissertation (thesis)

Hello everyone,

I shortly have to hand in a proposal for my masters thesis and I'm rather stuck. I'm studying for a degree in Environmental Planning at Liverpool John Moores in England and I'm really interested in green (eco) building and eco communities, I'm just struggling to pin the subject down to a research question.

Any ideas anyone? I'm thinking about looking at the kinds of communities that people build when they get together in groups with an environmental ethos, and the lessons that planners can take from this when they themselves are trying to design sustainable communities.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
    GG

Registered
    Aug 2001
    The only things I can contribute here is something a former coleauge and I would toss around...

How can a new development be incentived to use green roofs by using existing economic development incentives? What are the shortfalls in cost when it comes to contstructing a gree roof versus a conventional one...from the iddediate bottom line to long-term amoritization up-front increased cost versus long term benefit.
    Information necessitating a change of design will be conveyed to the designer after and only after the design is complete. (Often called the 'Now They Tell Us' Law) - Fyfe's First Law of Revision

We don't believe in planners and deciders making the decisions on behalf of Americans. -- George W. Bush , Scranton, PA -- 09/06/2000

Registered
    Aug 2001