Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: PhD thesis topics - Aztec, Mayan, Mesoamerican planning?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2006

PhD thesis topics - Aztec, Mayan, Mesoamerican planning?

Hi guys,

I've been fascinated for many years (particularly as a former History teacher) about the Aztec and Mayan cultures, and have been lucky enough to travel there from Australia in recent years.

I'd love to do a PhD thesis on some aspect of the planning revolving around these cultures, and have done a fair bit of reading of late. The only trouble is finding a particular aspect of significance to write about.

I'd really appreciate any ideas from you esteemed planners and colleagues out there on this one! Any help would be great...

Many thanks,

Rewey

Registered
    May 2005
    The University of New Mexico, where I got my MCRP, has a dual degree program in Latin American Studies and Planning and there may be some faculty here that could help steer you in some useful direction. Ted Jojola stands out as a possibility, or at least someone who can direct you to a more appropriate source. He is from Isleta Pueblo, south of Albuquerque, and his work focuses on what he has dubbed "Indigenous Planning." In fact, he recently succeeded in getting this included as an Amerian Planning Association Division: http://www.planning.org/indigenous/