Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Breaking into planning in the Northeast

Registered
    Apr 2007

Breaking into planning in the Northeast

Hey all, thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

I'm finishing up my senior year at Boston College, graduating with a B.A. in polisci and a minor in music. I'm interested in environmental issues and discovered planning through a course in urban ecosystems last semester. It really piqued my interest in the field and now I'm strongly considering an MUP.

I have 2 questions:

1. Is there any way to get some relevant planning experience with only the polisci degree? As an undergrad, I took courses in federalism, the court system, public policy, econ, architecture, that urban ecosystems class, and interned in a senate office. I understand that many of the planning internship programs are geared towards grad students but I'd really like to try something in the field before I invest in the masters.

2. As someone who's generally interested in the relationship between cities and the environment, is this a field that's going to be interesting / rewarding?

Thanks again for your help.

Registered
    Mar 2006
    As for your second question, about whether it would be interesting or rewarding, it totally depends on where you work and where their values and goals lie. I use to work for a development-hungry jurisdiction that gave little care towards environmental impacts. Now I work for a place that looks over every development with a fine-toothed comb to mitigate effects on environmentally significant areas. Then of course, there are firms that specialize in environmental land use planning, and I would think that would probably be the type of place you'd like to end up.