Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Need help with research

Registered
    Apr 2007

Need help with research

hello, all - i am new to cyburbia, and i am in a bachelor's program (writing my own major; community planning through small business and the arts), preparing to get a master's in urban planning. i need to find some good resources to help me write the course outlines for my major: interviews with planners, books, trade pubs, etc. anyone have any recommendations? APA didn't give me much, nor did the city manager i interviewed last week. all help is appreciated...

Registered
    Dec 1998
    Moderator note:
    Welcome to Cyburbia. I moved your thread to the Student Lounge where it should get a better response. In the meantime, check out the Book Club forum for ideas about planning books, reading materials, etc.
    "A witty woman is a treasure, a witty beauty is a power!"

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I made an attempt at writing a paper on community planning and art as a catalyst for redevelopment. I moved to another topic after becoming frustrated with the amount of literature out there. So that means that you have a great gap to fill or some frustration ahead. I have found that the Journal of Urban Affairs is an excellent resource anytime I research a planning/economic development question.

Good luck.
    Information necessitating a change of design will be conveyed to the designer after and only after the design is complete. (Often called the 'Now They Tell Us' Law) - Fyfe's First Law of Revision

We don't believe in planners and deciders making the decisions on behalf of Americans. -- George W. Bush , Scranton, PA -- 09/06/2000

Registered
    Apr 2007
    Thanks - I will check it out. I am attempting to incorporate my original Art History major and my business experience into a BA and then move on to Planning. There is a lot of material out there, but it doesn't seem like many of the ideas have come to fruition. Agree?

Registered