Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Question for Current Planning Grad Students

Registered
    Apr 2007

Question for Current Planning Grad Students

Hi everyone,

I'm going to be applying to masters programs in urban planning (with hopefully the option of obtaining an urban design certificate) for fall of 2008. I have a double major in Government and Sociology and currently work as a paralegal at a large law firm.

I have the opportunity to take a class or two at a local college with tuition reimbursment from my employer. I was wondering if you could suggest some classes for me to take that would help my application and ultimately be helpful in grad school. Were there any classes that you wish you had taken knowing what you do now about your graduate program? I've taken intermediate microecon theory, research methods and statistics that were required for my major. I have no planning experience--would it be helpful to take classes in the urban studies department? As for urban design, would there be anything that I could take that would help me with this aspect of my interests?

I'm very new at this, so any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you all!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    A course on the history of the city is a good intro course, and a lot of the general public enjoys learning about it. A urban design course that is more theory based will give you an understanding of how this design speciality works, and may help you decide if want to specialize in this type of planning.

Registered
    May 2005
    I agree that a history of the city, or some overview of urbanism would be helpful and not something I really got as a discreet course. Another course I never took was a basic overview of architectural history. I picked up stuff from other classes, but wish I had a better command of the terms and features of distinctive styles.