Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Chances at CDN Planning Schools

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Apr 2007

Chances at CDN Planning Schools

Hello,

I have an AA in geography from a college, a BA in geography and a certificate in Urban Studies from SFU, and I am just starting out working for my diploma in Urban Land Economics from UBC. My UDGPA was at 3.1. I am currently looking for work in Vancouver as an entry-level planner with an aim of using the one year of experience that I hope to have (from starting to work now up until next summer before starting grad school in sept 08 ([if i get in]). I was wondering what my chances are of getting into a canadian grad school, specifically UBC or U o T?

Registered
    Apr 2007
    Hey GE,

I'm also from raincity and am starting at UBC SCARP in the fall. I think it says that approx. 200 people apply every year (and only 20 or so get in) but I'm not sure if that's correct/up to date. The application is a little different from most other planning schools in that they only want a 500 word statement of interest - so you want those 500 words to be golden. Both specific (incorporate key terms) and to the point. That's terrific that you already have work experience - so write about it. Out of curiousity are you working for the City or another muncipality? Consulting?

I know you're done with undergrad but you may want to consider taking PLAN 425, which is a 3 hour, once-a-week seminar taught by a mixed panel of profs and PhD candidates. I know a few people who have gone back and taken that course to get a feel for the school and make connections.

PM/email me if you want more info and I'd be happy to chat.

PS This website is a great resource if you're wanting to know more about other CIP-accredited schools in Canada:
    http://www.cip-icu.ca/English/academic/cdn_uni.htm

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Apr 2007
    Thanks for the reply oh_viola.