Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Went to law school, but interested in urban planning

Registered
    Apr 2007

Went to law school, but interested in urban planning

Hello ... I just stumbled on this website in my search to find information on whether it is possible to work in urban planning with a law degree instead of a planning degree. Before going to law school, I was interested in attending an urban planning/public policy type degree program, and had even taken one course in public management after graduating from college, but ended up going to law shool instead. The thinking was that I could get to where I wanted to be (not sure now why I thought that) and that I would have more career options. I have been working as a real estate attorney for four years now, primarily handling office leases and real property purchases and sales, and have little experience in handing land use/variance applications. Now I am trying to figure out what other career options I might have. Something that I think I would like to be doing (and I'm not sure if this is even a real/common field) is thinking about and trying to implement changes from which a town would benefit, i.e., introduction of mixed-use projects or revitalization of public areas. To that end, I am thinking about trying to volunteer to work on projects with the special improvment district in my own town (population around 20,000 or so), but that seems to more about marketing/promotions for the existing town center and also trying to solve parking shortage issues (not even sure how that is possible in this town). I am working on a project at work right now where a business needs zoning variances because it is a conditional use and does not meet the conditions. It seems that the planner's role is to argue why the specific variances should be granted and, to be honest, that does not seem very interesting to me. It is just one use, and I guess I want to think about the big picture fo