Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Schools with Physical Planning Emphasis across the world

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jun 2006

Schools with Physical Planning Emphasis across the world

Hello!

I graduated with my bachelors in Urban Planning and Development from the University of Melbourne in Australia, and looking at furthering my postgraduate into Physical Planning/Urban Design/Transport Planning. Would anyone be able to recommend good physical planning/design schools across the world that they might be aware of?

I'm looking at:

UPenn, MIT, Berkeley - US
    TU Delft - Netherlands
    KTH Royal Institute of Technology - Sweden
    Bartlett - UK
    TU Berlin - Germany...

They're all masters programmes taught in English btw...

Thanks!

Registered
    Apr 2006
    Well, the KTH program used to be limited to Baltic countries; I don't know when they opened it up to all international students.

In order to complete a Masters thesis here, one generally has to be very independent. Advisors are not assigned--a student must choose an advisor after two semesters. Many professors give the impression that they have more important things to do than supervise masters projects. This is because the Masters is the norm in Sweden, and such a project ('exjobb' or 'examensarbete) is done by nearly student at KTH. Your thesis proposal must look good for application, but (atleast in the program I am in) one can change it according to new interests or availability of a research project.

I can not attest to the quality of the courses in any of your areas of interest. I suggest browsing the syllabus of each course in the program.

My word of caution: the program that I am in his given me quite a luckluster impression of KTH. However, it is much broader and accepts students from too many backgrounds. If ABE is strict in their requirement that all students must have a solid background in planning/arch/LA, you might not have the same experience.