Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Job duties

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jan 2006

Job duties

I have been working at this town since 17 months now and it looks like it is a dead end job. They hired me a junior planner right out of my graduate school. I has 2 years of enpericence prior to coming here. They already had enough planners and I am kind of never given enough attention. The director doesn't know why he needs me for apart from writing some application reviews. The planner who has been here before me is not ready to share ANY work with me and wants to keep doing everything himself to impress the director. I am aware of the process of long range planning here but not REALLY involved in any thing much. I have not been introduced to the township Mayor yet.

After mentioning to the director what I think, he suggested that I start communicating more with applicants and their professionals. Thats all. I want to work for thsi town and its a matter of making my space in between these planners. Should I look for another job that can give me more hands on experience in long range planning? How about talking informally to AICP ethics committe? I recently passed AICP test.

Registered
    Mar 2006