Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Physical planning: art skills?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2007

Physical planning: art skills?

This may come off as a rather odd question, but I was wondering exactly how neccessary it is to have art skills (i.e. sketching, drafting etc) in order to be a physical planner or LA. I have some background in the policy side of planning and am planning (no pun intended) on getting my MA next year, hence am weighing my options. Physical planning interests me a great deal, but to be honest I have met 5 year olds with more artistic talent than myself, so if it is anything like architecture programs I will completely useless. However if it is more software based (GIS for example), that would be right up my alley. Thanks

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Very very necessary. You are going to use software programs alot more during your day to day tasks (AutoCAD and to a lesser degree GIS). However, a lot of the brainstorming/conceptual phases of design is done on paper (trash overlays for example). Yes, physical site design and landscape architecture have a lot of similarities (and differences) wtih architecture in terms of the creative/design process.

Rendering is a type of art skill that can be practiced by people with little/no skill and people with tremendous talent. There are a few different ways to complete this type of skill depending on the look of the finished product:

(1) doing all the work in CAD, plotting the graphic, and hand rendering.
    (2) using an isometric grid, skething directly on the finished surface, and then hand-rendering the graphic (this is where the real artistic skill comes in).
    (3) doing all the work in CAD, plotting several colors, and hand rendering the detaills.