Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Your perfect job/career

Registered
    Jul 2007

Your perfect job/career

It has been said that if you sit down for 30 seconds to a minute and think about what your perfect job/career would be, than that is what you should do. While I realize this probably has been a topic of discussion before, I am new to Cyburbia and am curious about ya’all. Plus, I think that there are other new folks as well.

So here is the question…. What are your top three perfect jobs/careers (with a bit a commentary)?

For me:

1. Organic Farmer (the long haired hippie-type you might see at the farmers market).
    2. Planner (yes, it’s true)
    3. Forester (I have a serious tree fetish)

And ok no. 4. ____________

Unfrozen Caveman Planner mendelman's avatar
    Registered
    May 2003
    Mine would be:
    1. Real Estate Developer - that is who actually builds cities
    2. City tour guide - I love to educate others about the history of my city
    3. Explorer - unfortuantely very few undiscovered places left in the world
    4. Planner - it's not bad and pays the bills and is a close approximation of a developer
    5. Hot dog stand proprietor - oddly, I think owning a hog dog stand in a high traffic big city downtown near the major tourist areas could be fun.
    I'm sorry. Is my bias showing?

Let's not be didactic in this profession, because that is a path to disillusion and irrelevancy.

Six seasons and a movie!

Registered
    Feb 2004
    It's been a while since we've had a dream job thread. My choices have changed over time. I would like to be (in no particular order)

- organic gardener. (Wouldn't feel compelled to participate in the weekly vibe exchanges at the commune, though)

- television or screenwriter. In theory it sounds like a fun way to get some of that pent up creativity out and to actually get paid for doing so is icing on the cake.