Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Chances of admission: dual masters public admin/planning

Registered
    Jul 2007

Chances of admission: dual masters public admin/planning

Hi everyone!

So I'm new here and discovered this great resource! So here's the deal: I graduated in '06 from UC Irvine with a Psychology degree and currently work full time at the University supervising roughly 30 undergraduates. I've been looking at various Masters programs and became interested in USC's joint masters in Public Administration/Planning. As a career I'd like to get involved in transportation management. The issue is this: while I have lots of management and relevant research experience in Public Admin I have ZERO experience in planning(but I'm a big public transportation enthusiast and see it as a definite career area). So what do you all think, do I have a shot to get into the dual degree program at USC despite the lack of experience in planning? My education stats: 3.82 overall, 4.00 major, 1350 GRE(Q = 760, V = 590, Writing = 4.5).

Registered
    Apr 2002
    I don't think you need any planning experience to get into planning school. You should express your interest in the profession in your essays, have people mention it in their recommendations, and go up there and meet some of the professors. I got my Master's as a career change and had no prior experience.

Registered
    Jan 2005
    I wonder who they would take if it came to a decision between someone with experience in the field and a planning undergrad degree (but from a less prestigous school) vs. yourself (no professional experience but great academic background, although a non-related degree)?

Registered
    May 2005
    I agree that your background and experience should not have an impact on your application. This is what the essay is for: to explain your interest in planning. Afterall, they are not hiring you to work as a planner, just admitting you to a program to be trained as one.