Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Economic and community development programs at CU Denver any good?

Registered
    Aug 2007

Economic and community development programs at CU Denver any good?

I'm looking at planning masters programs and was wondering if anyone can tell me what schools are strong in community and economic development? My wife wants to move to Denver, so I'd be particularly interested if anyone can comment on how the program at CU Denver does in this area.

Thanks.

Registered
    Aug 2007
    I'm a 2005 graduate of the MURP program, and would characterize it as very strong in physical planning (site planning, urban design, etc.), as it is tied to the College of Architecture. There are a number of good courses on the economic development side of things; Dr. Tom Clark is highly experienced and an excellent professor.

I felt Community Development was one of the weaker aspects of the program. Few courses are offered, and the one I took was rather poor. However, you have the option of taking courses in the College of Public Affairs, which may offer topics you're looking for.

Cyburbian Plus
    Registered
    Jun 2003
    As another grad of UCD (very early 90's), I agree with Plannerama assessment.
    Oddball
    Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves?
    Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here?
    Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
    From Kelly's Heroes (1970)

Are you sure you're not hurt ?
    No. Just some parts wake up faster than others.
    Broke parts take a little longer, though.
    From Electric Horseman (1979)

Registered
    Aug 2001