Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Graduate programs/profiles/ranking etc

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2007

Graduate programs/profiles/ranking etc

Hey all,

As someone who is planning on applying to grad schools in the near future, one thing I have noticed is a lack of rankings and student profiles (such as are available for law/med/business schools for example). Do these exist anywhere? I was a decent student... graduated from a well regarded school with a 3.4 GPA and have a strong work history, including work with a planning agency... but am unsure if that puts me at the top/middle/bottom of the pack. This isn't meant to be in any way competitive, it would just be nice to know where I stand, especially if I decide to ask for financial aid.

p.s. I really like the looks of UIC (partially because of my love of chicago, and partially because of the program itself)... good choice?

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Is UIC a good choice? Maybe. What are you interested in studying? Graduate school is different from undergrad in that way. An undergrad program is general, whereas a graduate program should provide you learning specific to the topic(s) in which you want to become specialized. Rankings, then, may be meaningless. Why go to a top-ranked school that happens to emphasize environmental planning if you want to go into a field like economic development or transportation planning? Your best bet is to look at the research topics of the faculty. When you find a program similarly aligned to your own interests, you have found your graduate school.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jul 2007
    a very good point, thanks. Should add that I do not care about the rankings so much as it would simply be helpful to see how each school compares academically... if that distinction makes any sense.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    http://www.acsp.org/Guide/ACSP_13th_Edition_Guide.pdf