Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: ASLA and other certification questions (Was:need some direction...)

Registered
    Sep 2007

ASLA and other certification questions (Was:need some direction...)

Greetings!

I am a new student of UC Berkeley Extension's Landscape Architecture Certiciation Program. My career objective is to get into physical planning and design. I am particularly interested in principles of sustainability, New Urbanism, infill development and TOD.

In addition, I am also considering pursuing an MUP in-state, with a specialization in urban design, in order to become AICP certified. My background is in international political economy at a small private school.

My questions are:

1) How important is it to have the ASLA certification if you are looking for a long-term career in the private sector that may include consulting or self-employment?

2) Does anyone have any impressions, negative or positive, regarding the UC Extension Program? What about SFIA's Ecological Design Distance Learning?

3) Would it be a waste of time and resources going back to school for an MUP with my stated objective, since I would likely acquire the necessary experience on the job?

I am interested mainly in working in the private sector, perhaps with a design develop firm. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Moderator note:
    Please use descriptive thread titles, not teaser titles, in the professional forums. Thank you and carry on. ~Gedunker
    Last edited by Gedunker; 19 Sep 2007 at 12:25 PM.

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006