Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Pedestrian oriented design and planning schools?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Sep 2007

Pedestrian oriented design and planning schools?

Hi all, I am in the process of applying for MCP degrees for the fall of 08, and I hope that you might be able to help me decide on some schools to look at.

I am most interested in planning and designing excellent pedestrian spaces, whether streets or plazas and squares. I am concerned with building design, especially with creating spaces that have good building definition. I am also interested in street design, especially shared space and sign-less space. At the same time, I am interested in getting on the ground and counting pedestrians and analysing their behavior seemingly more in keeping with transportation engineering and GIS. Finally, I am interested in metropolitan-wide land use planning that will allow high density, mixed use development for the pedestrians to inhabit.

I studied philosophy in college, and did not get the greatest GPA (2.7 or so) but did very well on my GREs (750/740/4) and have taken classes since graduation in planning and design (getting A's in all.) I will get good recommendations and will have a strong portfolio for someone who has not taken a design degree or practiced in the field.

My requirements are:
    1. Some design program that will admit students without a prior design degree.
    2. A program that is holistic enough to allow me to explore my broad, but very much connected, interests: metropolitan-wide land use, pedestrian traffic planning, design.

I already have some idea of the elite schools to which I am interested (though more suggestions are invited) including Berkeley, MIT, Michigan, Penn, Washington) but I am interested in what "safety schools" you would suggest also. The UW Milwaukee program looks good, but what others would you suggest?

Thanks,
    bw

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Jun 2007