Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: American stories and planning advertising

Registered
    May 2007

American stories and planning advertising

I'm a Masters student at UC-Irvine. I moved from a rural area to Orange County and have been surrounded by developer advertisements for the past year. Is anyone out there studying those things? I'm primarily wondering about the narratives/myths that underlie those pictures of idyllic golf courses and swimsuit-wearing condo buyers.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    I remember those TV ads from about 4-5 years ago from Fannie Mae: "the American Dream makers." I hated those commercials then, and looking back at them now, I hate them even more.

Registered
    Mar 2005
    Quote Originally posted by s_puttnick View post
    I'm a Masters student at UC-Irvine. I moved from a rural area to Orange County and have been surrounded by developer advertisements for the past year. Is anyone out there studying those things? I'm primarily wondering about the narratives/myths that underlie those pictures of idyllic golf courses and swimsuit-wearing condo buyers.
    "Narratives" I can live with...but "Myths"?

I think you forgot "Discourse", "Archetype" and "Sociatelly-mandated roles/imagery".

Sorry, I couldn't resist.

It's called advertising. It's always had the same narrative: "purchasers of this product/service are admirable/enviable in some way or another; associate yourself with them".

If people in the OC like pristine golf courses and swimming pools, this will naturally be reflected back at them. A similar kind of ad for some new (urban) developments here in London showed a pretty woman wearing lacy lingerie, an open fur coat and heels reclining louchely on a balcony (of said develoment) and staring seductively at the photographer/imaginary prospect.
    Life and death of great pattern languages

Registered
    Mar 1996
    Blog entries