Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Running a planning department

Registered
    Jun 2005

Running a planning department

Hey everyone,

Okay, here's my situation. I just began working for a municipality in the metro NYC area as a planner. I moved here from Massachusetts for the position and my background is in nonprofits & community development. The other planner (the municipality's only planner until I arrived) is now out on maternity leave for the next two months, leaving me to more or less run the department in her absence. She will be checking in on a regular basis, but the day-to-day stuff will all be handled by the zoning clerk and I.

So here are my questions:

-I'm finding that this work is very political. I've had to be careful what I say and whom I say it to, because everyone here seems to know everyone else. There are more agendas and egos floating around than you can shake a stick at. In general, what kind of advice can you give me in navigating this new world? It seems like it is very much a balancing act of keeping the applicants, the zoning & planning boards, and the local residents all happy. I don't want to become someone that is two-faced in order to make everyone happy, because I know that it impossible. Someone warned me that residents in this area could be a bit difficult at times, and, well... I'm finding that to be true. I've had people get pretty angry over the phone and have had to de-escalate many situations. Everyone is your best friend until you tell them something that they don't want to hear.