Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: City policies to end homelessness

Registered
    Oct 2007

City policies to end homelessness

I only recently stumbled upon this site-- it's great. I'm very impressed with how you community members are able to turn to one another for planning/policy/professional advice. I'll get to my question, but some disclosure: I'm not a planner. I'm an amateur policy guy at best. But I am doing best practices research on policies to end homelessness for a city.

So. I'm not looking at affordable housing supply-- it's outside the scope of my study/report/analysis/whatever you want to call it. Ignoring that elephant in the room, I'm looking at the service the system-- gaps in services, barriers to service, possible partnerships to provide/ease provision of services, etc. Access/impediments to affordable housing might be on this list, but not the actual housing supply.

Do any of y'all have experience with city-level policies to end homelessness? Homelessness of all types: chronic, episodic, transitional, precarious, etc. Is this a question for planners?

Some stats from a recent local homelessness survey that might fuel discussion:
    ~30% are "chronically homeless" (disabled and homeless continuously for a year or experienced 4 bouts of homelessness in past 3 years)
    ~80% are unemployed
    ~25% Have mental illness or depression
    ~25% Alcohol Abuse
    ~20% Drug Abuse
    Cause of Homelessness:
    Lost Job: ~30%
    Alcohol or drug use: ~20%
    DV: ~5%

Registered
    Mar 2006
    I don't have any direct experience with this. But as far as Planning and homelessness, seems all we manage to do (unfortunately) is disperse the homeless, shoo them away.

More employment opportunities, and affordable and accessible drug and alcohol treatment seem to be the real necessesaties, and more afordable housing.

Registered
    Feb 2007