Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Circular road network vs grid system

Circular road network vs grid system

Greetings!

First of all, I will say that I do not have training in urban planning, and I'm just beginning to do some research because it's fascinating to me.

I've had some ideas, I'd like to get some "expert" opinions:

I envision town centers being "rounder", with roads spiraling out or in concentric circles. I realize this is not as "efficient", meaning you may not get from Point A to Point B in the fastest amount of time, but it would definitely add a more human and more social aspect to walking around town. The grid system of laying out roads and properties is, well, very square. I'm sure we can improve on it. It may be efficient, but it's not very livable.

I'd really appreciate some feedback or even if someone could point me to resources about towns that are laid out in circles, or research regarding this subject.

Thanks!

Registered
    Aug 2006
    I think you will find that most planners quite prefer the grid pattern. I'm not sure how you would do a series of circles throughout a city. How would you handle addressing? Also, you want a city to be safe and efficient. It's important for emergency vehicles to get places quickly.
    Do you want to pet my monkey?

Registered
    Mar 2004
    The original plan for Detroit after its great fire was very similar to what you are discussing. It was eventually abandoned for a modified grid/radial avenuel pattern as it proved difficult to get the owners of the ribbon farms to cooperate.

I'd suggest you review the ideas of Johann Heinrich von Thünen and Walter Christaller.
    We hope for better things; it will arise from the ashes - Fr Gabriel Richard 1805

Thanks for the references.