Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Urban planning graduate student interested in urban design

Registered
    Dec 2007

Urban planning graduate student interested in urban design

I have a B.A. in political science from USC and am currently applying to masters programs at UCLA, UC Berkeley, U of Michigan, USC, and UC Irvine. Though I am applying for an urban planning program, I would ultimately like to get a joint master's degree in either urban design or landscape architecture. I am first going into urban planning because I find it fascinating and would like to help Los Angeles communities. Since my college background is political science, a mostly theory- and writing-based curriculum, I did not know what to compile in order to create an urban design portfolio for the admission's committees. Does anybody have ideas about how I might eventually transition from urban planning into urban design? I am a very gifted artist, great with pencil and ink sketching, and I have a keen eye for design. I have been practicing sketching since childhood -both self-taught and trained in art school.

I would like to help reshape communities and, either simultaneously or at some point, actually design streets and portions of cities and neighborhoods. Is is possible to build an urban design or landscape architecture portfolio while pursuing an urban planning master's degree? Let me reframe that...I know it is possible...but how would one learn how to create this urban design portfolio? Would I take urban design classes as electives while pursuing the urban planning degree? My goal is to help rebuild communities, beautify them, and use my artistic skills to do this.

Any positive advice would be much appreciated!

Registered
    Feb 2007