Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Undergrad thesis: is it worth the effort?

Registered
    Dec 2007

Undergrad thesis: is it worth the effort?

What are the benefits of doing an undergraduate thesis? I am interested in applying to some masters programs in urban planning - which appear to be more "professional" than research-oriented.

Currently, I'm an undergrad student in geography and I have the option to do an undergraduate thesis instead of taking some 4th year courses. However, I am aware that doing a thesis can be a lot of work and I've heard many horror stories about it. Honestly, I would feel much more comfortable doing some 4th year courses than a thesis.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    My own feeling is that a degree with a thesis is viewed as a little more rigourous, and earns more respect. You may personally find it beneficial in preparing for a masters program, as you will gain the experience of developing methodology, researching a topic, and writing on it. Any good masters program will require extensive research-based writing. So will your job. Finally, you will potentially have something you can use as a work sample, or use as a basis to write an article or two.
    Anyone want to adopt a dog?

Registered
    Apr 2007

Thesis nightmare

Having just completed one a few months back I can say YES they are a nightmare. However they can help you in the long run. I'm not sure if it helped me get a job but I proved to myself grad school isn't for me.

Registered
    Jun 2005
    I did an undergrad thesis- although it is a lot of hard work and you wonder why in hell you would do it at the time, im really glad i did it- the skills you obtain through completing one definately have helped in my work
    "Have you ever wondered if there was more to life, other than being really, really, ridiculously good looking?" Zoolander

Cyburbian
    Registered
    May 2007