Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: GRE score for urban planning program

GRE score for urban planning program

I just took GRE and I got like 1370 (620V and 750M) I am an international student. The score is kind of low........but I really want to apply to some top schools.......
    Is there any chance to get admitted? How important is that score?
    Any ideas would be appreicated.

Registered
    Sep 2006
    You should be fine. It seems that most programs do not look at the GREs as the most important piece of the puzzle.

I got a 1200 on the GRE and got into 3 top 10 schools. I think I got in because the other pieces of my application easily made up for the marginal score.

Good luck.

Registered
    Jan 2008
    That's reassuring, drjb. I got an 1150 and I've applied to some top schools as well. Luckily I'm not relying on my score too much. It's my good looks that'll get me admitted!

Registered
    Sep 2007
    your score is above or at the average for every single planning program in the country. it shouldn't be an issue.

excuse me

excuse me. that GRE is necessary for M.A program or B.A program ?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    Quote Originally posted by redgoat3003 View post
    M.A. GRE stands for Graduate Record Examination; it's exclusively for graduate school admissions.

Registered
    Jan 2008
    I see.GRE score is not so important.

If I do decide on grad school I am terrified of the GRE because I don't test well. However, I am hoping to fall back on experience as well as success in the field of planning. Same with AICP, I may take the exam but need four years experience....comments?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Quote Originally posted by redgoat3003 View post