Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: First planning interview tips?

First planning interview tips?

I am very excited to be interviewing for a planning position next week, but do not know what to expect, or what would be acceptable pre-interview behavior. I work in the department where the interview will be, but in another area outside of direct planning work. Therefore, I am acquainted with a few people working as planners in that department. They know of my interest, but not sure if they know I will be interviewing. Would it be ok to let them know I'm interviewing and for any interview advice?

Also, I was told there would be a panel, but didn't ask of who and how many. Any idea of what this could mean, and would it be ok to ask?

There will also be a writing portion to this interview, and since I am VERY new to planning, would love to know what to expect, if possible. I am studying terminology and planning issues, but still quite nervous.

Any tips, suggestions would be GREATLYappreciated.

Registered
    May 2004
    Grand Rapids, Michigan (Detroit ex-pat since 2004)
    Quote Originally posted by Crayola View post
    I am very excited to be interviewing for a planning position next week, but do not know what to expect, or what would be acceptable pre-interview behavior. I work in the department where the interview will be, but in another area outside of direct planning work. Therefore, I am acquainted with a few people working as planners in that department. They know of my interest, but not sure if they know I will be interviewing. Would it be ok to let them know I'm interviewing and for any interview advice?
    Probably at least one of them knows that you're a candidate, and that means that the rest also know. It never hurts to be friendly and sociable and do some water-coolering with your colleagues. Being a known quantity can be a very good thing, sometimes.