Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Terrible college grades: is there any hope ?

Registered
    Jan 2008

Terrible college grades: is there any hope ?

I got terrible grades in college because I did not study. I failed 5 subjects but I still graduated.

My degree was Economics it has been two years since I graduated and I work at a Hardware store.

I was thinking of doing some post graduate courses and hopefully a masters as i am despite appearances actually passionate about economics. I want to work my a$$ off an get good grades.

Am I doomed to never be an economist working for the government or anywhere else because I did badly at college. Harsh advice appreciated I need to check into reality.

I am already 24 so it might be another year before I could begin taking classes again.

Thanks.

To be honest I was extremely dodgy in the classroom as well, busy living the college life. However, I was lucky enough to find a few internship (which admittedly I didn't learn much). I lucked out with a professional/privta ejob in Michigan which taught me about the real business world which I parlayed into a job in accordance with my degree (Planning) and have been at it for two plus years and effin love it. My colleagues like me, I love my municipal clients, I work on their behalf, I have the moxie to deal with developers of large projects and hope to have experience move me forward in life rather than a Master's degree....head up, fight hard, and don't quit learning. My grades never became an issue for me....yet

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005
    I was lucky no one ever asked for my transcripts after I graduated...

but, just the same, it is regrettable but not unsurmountable (I have done pretty well regardless with years of hard work) -