Urban planning community | #theplannerlife

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Canadian planners working in the US?

Registered
    Jan 2008

Canadian planners working in the US?

i was hoping someone might have some insight or advice for me...i am a recent graduate of a canadian planning school (masters) and am wondering about working in the states. is it worth applying to some of the entry level positions advertized here and on the american planning association website? is it very likely that a recent canadian planning grad would be considered and then be sponsored to go there? are there any regions in particular that face a planner shortage? any insight would be greatly appreciated! thanks!

Registered
    May 2004
    Grand Rapids, Michigan (Detroit ex-pat since 2004)
    Where in Ontario?

At the city of Detroit, one of my former colleagues was a Cdn native. Lived in Windsor, took the tunnel bus, walked a couple blocks to the office. She lived in an apartment right across from Belle Isle (appropriately named) and she was doing quite well for herself. (I left in '03 and have not had further contact with the department, other than noticing that several others left, and then went far away.)

If memory serves she had two bank accounts. (You probably know that in the US we are generally ignorant of exchange and pass Cdn coins at par, which can be profitable at parking meters. On my ventures south, I've been impressed by every common clerk instantly converting $US to $Cdn and vice versa.)

Bottom line: it can be done. PM me if you want to contact her.

maudit anglais
    Registered
    May 1997
    About 10 years ago when I graduated a good number of my classmates ended up working in the U.S.A. because there were no jobs up here. I had a couple of interviews myself but nothing came of it.

It is definitely possible, and I think there are one or two people on the boards here who have taken that route.