Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: GIS > CAD conversion?

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2006

GIS > CAD conversion?

Hi All -

I need to convert a batch of ArcGIS files to AutoCAD. This should be a one-time deal. I'm currently a grad student, and I'm working on my thesis, so free of cheap would be good.

Is there an easy way to do this? I've got a free/student version of ArcGIS 9, and access to ACAD 2008 on campus. I looked at both Arc & ACAD and neither had an obvious way to do this.

Any pointers?

Thanks!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Dec 2006
    Brian,

Use Arcv2cad. It is pretty reliable, and you can use the fully functioning trial for 30 days. License will cost $160.

http://www.guthcad.com/arcv2cad.htm

Doesn't AutoCAD 2007 or 2008 handle shapefiles now? What GIS programs are available in your MLA program?

Registered
    Jul 2007
    If you have access to Arc, there is an export to CAD tool in ArcToolbox, I have never used it personally, since I don't use AutoCAD.

Registered
    Apr 2008

GIS>CAD

I just found this site, so sorry if this is already resolved. AutoCAD 2008 has the ability to import shapefiles without converting and once you save the AutoCAD drawing all features will be CAD. As mentioned earlier, ESRI ArcGIS 9.x has a Feature to CAD tool that allows you to convert shapefiles to CAD. I hope this helps and/or you have already solved your problem.

Registered
    Feb 2007