Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: How could I prepare for grad school while living in Japan?

Registered
    Nov 2007

How could I prepare for grad school while living in Japan?

Hello everyone!

My first post to Cyburbia... thanks very much for reading! If anyone could advise me, I would really appreciate it.

I decided several months ago (and have been lurking at Cyburbia every since), after toying with the idea for several years, that I want to go into urban design or landscape architecture when I come back to the U.S. from Japan. I'm particularly interested in the environmental focus offered at UW.

However, I have no real experience or education in the field. I feel passionate about doing this for many, many reasons, but I studied art and communication in college, had internships doing P.R. and copywriting with local papers and the Oregon Zoo... my grades were good and I always did well at math and science, but I haven't done anything really related to urban design. So I have a lot of make up to do.

Since I'm living in a country with no English classes I could take, does anyone have any ideas on how I could get started preparing for grad school or a relevant job/internship before I return to the U.S. in 8 months or so? I'm hoping to build my portfolio by doing a lot of sketching in the famous gardens around here, and maybe take an online statistics course, but that's all I've been able to think of. My Japanese is not really good enough to take courses or volunteer with the city or anything, and I think it's probably too early to start contacting organizations back home looking for volunteer opportunities (or is it?).

Again, thanks for any help! Cyburbia seems like a cool place - I'm glad I found it!

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2008
    This could be a late reply, but your situation is similar to the situation I faced this past year.