Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What do you enjoy most about planning?

Registered
    Dec 2007

What do you enjoy most about planning?

I'm entering grad school for planning in the fall, and I have a question for all of you out there in the field: What are the moments/achievements/perks/etc. that make you happy that you chose this career? I know that as a student I run the risk of being too optimistic and idealistic about what I'll be doing in the future, but I need to know that there are times when you say to yourself, "Damn, I'm glad to be a planner." Thanks!

Registered
    Jun 2007
    I'm a nerd, I suppose, but I really, really enjoy the code creation process, whether it's amending current ordinances, going through the whole RFP process for outside assistance, or in-house code creation. Zoning, subdivision, historic preservation, design guidelines, various building codes, process/charter amendments, etc. Yeah. Code review and code creation. Kick ace. Especially the first time you see something in it implemented.

Registered
    Nov 2005
    Policy making, code generation, and (yes I am a geek) I love delving into numbers on various phenomenon concerning population change and growth. Planning is a rewarding career that provides you with a decent income, incredible opportunities (top 25 future career for job prospects for the 2nd year in a row in the US News and World Report survey), influence, and it is one of the few careers that no one at a cocktail party will ever understand what you do!
    Satellite City Enabler

Super Moderator luckless pedestrian's avatar
    Registered
    Aug 2005

good question