Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Is it better to be a younger landscape architect

Is it better to be a younger landscape architect

Howdy. I work as a planner right now, and want to go back to school for a masters in landscape architecture. I am 25 right now and am looking to be in school by the time I'm 30 (I want to gain a few years more experience in planning first, maybe even move up the ladder in planning first).

I will be 33 when I finish school with my MLA. Do landscape architecture firms look less favorably at slightly older graduates, or do they really want younger people (a.k.a. should I really be going to school next year or is it still fine to go back in a few years after I have saved enough money?)

Thanks-

I would really like to hear what experienced landscape architects/architects (not students) have to say.

Thanks-

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Mar 2006
    You're age won't be an issue - go back to school if that's what you want to do. A friend of mine just finished her MLA somewhere north of 50.

There will be a slight disconnect between your age/experience and your capabilities. You won't have the technical skills of a project manager, but you'll have the wisdom and experience to manage projects.

If you're willing to come in at the bottom (salary & position-wise) you'll have no problem getting a job, and you'll quickly move up the ladder. Firms should jump at the chance to hire you.

If you want to come in as a more senior person, you'll have problems - Most firms will have a hard time paying a premium for someone who doesn't have the technical skills.

Registered
    Dec 2003