Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Banks insisting on drive-throughs

Registered
    Jan 2005

Banks insisting on drive-throughs

I have heard from more than one developer that most bank tenants insist on having a drive-through, or else they won't ever consider a site. Accomodating a bank in an urban location is thus difficult, particularly due to the vehicular access/stacking needs. And then there is the whole issue of destroying the pedestrian orientation of the area. Any thoughts on this?

Registered
    Aug 1997
    Quote Originally posted by hilldweller View post
    I have heard from more than one developer that most bank tenants insist on having a drive-through, or else they won't ever consider a site. Accomodating a bank in an urban location is thus difficult, particularly due to the vehicular access/stacking needs. And then there is the whole issue of destroying the pedestrian orientation of the area. Any thoughts on this?
    As a developer, I can confirm what you are hearing. Banks are not interested in sites without drive-thru service. Pharmacies and many quick-serve restaurants are the same way. If the jurisdiction wants these uses in an area, finding some way to accomodate drive-thru's is critical. Way too much money goes out the drive-thru window not to have one. It would be a significant competitive disadvantage to be without.
    JOE ILIFF

"Rarely do we find men who willingly engage in hard, solid thinking. There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions. Nothing pains some people more than having to think."
    Martin Luther King, Jr.

I guess it really depends on where the bank is. In my urban area, no bank has a drive through. These include the big national banks - citibank, Bank of America, etc. The same goes for drug stores - Walgreens CVS etc. no drive throughs in the city.

So if its one of these, kindly point out to them that they do build non-drive through facilities.

Registered
    Apr 2006