Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Degreed and unemployed: need help

Registered
    Mar 2008

Degreed and unemployed: need help

I earned my Masterís in Urban Planning from a respected APA accredited program. I went through it pretty fast, so only had one internship. Iíve now had 12 job interviews with no offers.

I could be a very bad interviewee, or they may not like the fact that Iím older (switching careers). But it might help if someone could tell me how to cope with the competition or escape it. Is there a region that might have a higher demand for planners or a lower ratio of recent grads to jobs? Iím willing to relocate to most places at this point. However, it appears that most employers donít want to hire from another state for an entry level position. I thought about renting a room somewhere to get a local address.

Is there training that I could get that would help with my employability? Iíve found that classes only carry limited weight in job interviews, but perhaps there are exceptions. Would taking a job as a zoning inspector translate into a real planner position? Many of these only require a high school diploma, so it might be a mistake. Iíve had to take out a loan just to pay the bills, so canít stay unemployed forever. Needless to say that Iím disappointed in my career choice right now.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Where would you like to live? Decide that and focus on that/those area(s). Go to the state chapter APA web sites. Most have jobs available listings. Employment opportunities vary from state to state. http://www.planning.org/Chapters/links.html

I'd try to avoid positions that only require a HS diploma.

Be confident and good luck!

Cyburbian Plus Whose Yur Planner's avatar
    Registered
    Jun 2004