Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Facility building in rural communities

Registered
    Feb 2008

Facility building in rural communities

I’m a graduate student in an urban planning program and am doing my practicum working with a rural city in Oregon. This ‘city’ has a population of roughly 2300 and almost half these are under the age of 18. The mill, which was the primary employer, is gone and there is virtually no local economy. In addition, TWO 500-year floods have hit the city in the last 11 years leaving the town and its residents devastated. Through various community meetings people identified expansion of community facilities and recreational opportunities for teens as one key factor in the city’s ability to be resilient (getting out of flood plain and creating economy were also noted).

My question to you is this:
    Can any of you point to resources re: facilities and capacity building in rural communities?

Any good case studies on rural communities building and running community centers, getting money for refurbishing existing facilities, building the community capacity to get projects off the ground?

How would you address a community’s desire to refurbish/build indoor/outdoor facilities that include places for teens?

Any help would be appreciated.

Registered
    Aug 2001
    Oh god. The "nothing for teens" argument. You will hear this over and over again throughout your career. It is usually followed by some adult's opinion of what kids want. I have seen countless such initiatives fail miserably.

But wait. There is also the "we want our kids to be able to come back here to work after they graduate" dream. Face it, the kids don't want to live in Podunk, USA, and besides, they did not go to college for a degree in mechanical engineering to become a welder at the local factory.

Sorry for the groan, eye roll, and unhelpful comments. I guess I am just feeling a bit off today.