Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Job prospects in Raleigh-Durham?

Registered
    Mar 2008

Job prospects in Raleigh-Durham?

Does anyone know about the job prospects for planners in this region? Also, does anyone know about or have advice on internships for folks who already have degrees?

I posted some of this earlier under "Need Help," but basically I'm unemployable in the DC area. I graduated with a MURPL in Dec 2006 and have had 13 unsuccessful job interviews. Finally, a very helpful human resources worker explained that without experience, I was not even qualified for a planner technician job in his county. This position only requires an associates degree (but does require experience).

What's put me in a pickle is that I need to earn more than child care costs, because we're out of savings (extended unemployment does that). But in Raleigh, we can live on my wife's income while I work for free to get experience. I'm not stuck on this area, but it does seem to fit the bill for a lower cost of living while still offering job prospects, but I need to know the latter for sure. So if anyone knows if hiring freezes are coming or if it's a very bad area to get started, I could really use this information. For reasons that I haven't determined yet, Charlotte seems to have few jobs in planning right now. One other thing, there is a MURP program in Raleigh. If taking more classes would help, I can have that option (though schooling doesn't seem to be the answer). Any advice would be much appreciated.

Registered
    Jul 2007

Raleigh-bound