Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: My chances in the planning field

Registered
    May 2008

My chances in the planning field

Hi everyone,
    I am a college sophomore going for a bachelor's in History/Historic preservation and an associates in civil engineering technology. I have become very interested in the planning field and was wondering if my majors would be good(compatible) with the planning field(as a graduate degree). Any advice, ideas, ect. would be most welcome.
    Thanks for your time,
    Ryan21

Sure. I had a BA in History and added an MSHP with a cognate in urban planning. I start my 20th year in July and am now the Assistant Director.

Registered
    May 2008
    Thanks for the info. It is very good to hear from someone who has a history degree and is successful in the planning field. thanks again.

Registered
    Jul 2007
    Planning is compatible with many degree types, especially in the social sciences. I was poly sci...if you do a search on these boards I believe there is a thread that is dedicated to what was your undergraduate degree! You will also find a wide range of undergraduate degrees in any graduate program. Best of luck.
    "Never invest in any idea you can't illustrate with a crayon." ~Peter Lynch

Registered
    May 2008
    Thanks a lot. That is good to know. It is good to see a field that takes many different inputs and disciplines. Thanks again!
    - Ryan21

Cyburbian
    Registered
    Aug 2007

Preservation Planning

I think you'll find that there is a bit of a demand for Historic Preservation Planners. Because of the Certified Local Government program, larger cities that have substantial historic districts often look for a planner who can administer the Historic Preservation Ordinance, communicate with the SHPO, and look at rehabilitation plans to see if they meet the Secretary of the Interior's Standards.