Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Improving interview skills: what worked for you?

Registered
    Sep 2007

Improving interview skills: what worked for you?

Hello everyone,

I'm a frequent reader of the forums, and an infrequent poster but I have a question and I know someone on here will have the answer.

I got my Masters a couple months ago and I have been applying for positions in SE and mid-Michigan that I am qualified for. I have had a couple interviews in the past month (Department of Transportation and the Michigan Economic Development Corporation to name two). One interview went well, the other, wasn't a disaster, but I just never lost my nervousness, and felt that I wasn't able to sell my skills and experience as much as I should of.

I feel like my cover letter and resume are solid, but that there is a lot of room for improvement in my interview skills. I have considered going to Toastmasters (I know this helps with public speaking skills, maybe it translates to interviewing?) and doing some mock interviews with the career center at my university. Did these avenues or others help any of you improve your interviewing skills?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

Registered
    Nov 2002

practice, practice, practice

Call the career counseling office where you did your graduate degree, and set up an appointment for practice interviews. They should tape the session and be able to give you some really good advice on how to improve your interviewing skills

Registered
    May 2004
    Grand Rapids, Michigan (Detroit ex-pat since 2004)
    Quote Originally posted by emu_planner View post
    ... but I just never lost my nervousness, and felt that I wasn't able to sell my skills and experience as much as I should of.