Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: Best way to fund Main Street program?

Best way to fund Main Street program?

I work as a planner in an area periphery to a big city (sort of like how Brooklyn nestles NYC, except a lot smaller).

We've been trying out the Main Streets program in two of our commercial districts and they've had varying, but improving success at revitalization. However, as households, firms, and, yes, municipal governments need to tighten the belt in these gloomy times, we're looking at alternative means for funding this entity.

Here are the options we've looked at and why they seem inadequate:

1) The City - we understand the benefits to having the programs, but while most Main Streets programs nearby receive total funding, we're no NYC, and our budget is shrinking.

2) The State - they expect to be cutting back budgets as well

3) Area businesses - we don't have a large concentration of large corporate entities and smaller shops see supporting it as another tax increase.

4) Self funded - fund raising, grant writing, etc do bring in some money (25%?), but no where near the type of transition we're trying to do.

Does anyone have creative practices for making a Main Streets organization more self sufficient?

Thanks.

Lafayette (or West Lafayette), Indiana turns over their parking meter receipts from the downtown, as well as parking tickets in the d/t, to their MSP.

Downtown is the one neighborhood that belongs to everybody, so hit up businesses outside the cbd for memberships. It's i their interest because it's a quality of life issue.

We use special events for fund raisers, sometimes partnering with other community groups and splitting the profits.
    On pitching to Stan Musial:
    "Once he timed your fastball, your infielders were in jeopardy."
    Warren Spahn

Registered
    Apr 2006