Urban planning community

+ Reply to thread

Thread: What are my chances of getting into almost top-tier grad school?

What are my chances of getting into almost top-tier grad school?

Hi everyone. I'm new to the forum although I've been browsing for a couple of weeks. Let me introduce myself -

I'm a 21-year-old undergrad student attending a mostly unknown state school, majoring in Community Planning and Urban Studies (yes our program is PAB accredited, btw), and minoring in political science. I graduate in the fall of 2009, and as of right now, my GPA is a 2.7. I have yet to take the GRE but I plan on taking it sometime in the spring.

I want to attend a highly reputable, respectable school for grad. I know that to an extent, the only thing that really matters is that you have a degree but I'd like to attend a larger, more well-renowned school for grad.

The ony problem is, as I've said before, is that I've fooled around too much in undergrad. Honestly I didn't even know HOW to study until my junior year...........and I'll be a senior in January.

So with all of that being said..........I've downloaded the Plantizen.com guide to urban planning grad schools and after doing some research based off of that, I've seen a couple of schools that capture my interest. But the one school that stands out to me as being almost perfect for my career interests and my particular situation is the University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill).